Administrative Agencies

Administrative Agencies

Executive Office for Immigration Review

View descriptions of EOIR units, including the Board of Immigration Appeals, Office of the Chief Immigration Judge, and Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer.  Complete text of some BIA decisions are available for downloading.

Food and Nutrition Service (USDA)

Contains links to official descriptions of eligibility and benefits for Women, Infants & Children (WIC) and Food Stamps programs.

G.P.O. Access

Maintained by the Government Printing Office.  Contains searchable databases covering the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Public Laws, and more.

Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices

The Office of Special Counsel (OSC) is a component of the Civil Rights Division, U.S. Department of Justice. It is responsible for ensuring that U.S. workers, including legal immigrants, are not subject to employment discrimination based upon citizenship or immigration status and national origin, with respect to hiring, firing, or recruitment of referral for a fee. It also works to ensure that workers are not subject to discrimination during the employment eligibility verification (Form I-9) process. Download useful fact sheets, forms, and multi-lingual outreach material.

Social Security Administration

Access policy papers prepared by SSA’s Office of Policy as well as Social Security laws and regulations.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)

The BCIS is the component in the Department of Homeland Security responsible for the immigration service functions previously handled by the former Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Provides information about the transition of immigration service and benefits functions to the BCIS. On-line service and benefit functions previously found on the INS’s Web site can be accessed here.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP)

The CBP, an agency within the Department of Homeland Security, is responsible for border enforcement and inspection functions at ports of entry into the U.S. The CBP unifies border enforcement and inspection duties conducted by the U.S. Customs Service, the former Immigration and Naturalization Service, the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, and the U.S. Border Patrol.

Major sections of the website include information about the CBP’s history, organization, and management; news releases; information for travelers to and from the U.S.; international trade–related information, and border security.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Contains links to HHS agencies, including Administration for Children and Families and Health Care Financing Administration.  Includes instructions on sending emails to the secretary of HHS.

U.S. Department of Labor

Website of the U.S. Department of Labor.

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The EEOC “is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person’s race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.”

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)

Housed in the the Directorate of Border and Transportation Security, Department of Homeland Security, the ICE is responsible for the enforcement of immigration and customs laws within the U.S., the protection of specified federal buildings, and air and marine enforcement. The ICE combines border and security functions previously handled by the U.S. Customs Service, Federal Protective Service, and former Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Provides information about the agency’s three principal areas of responsibility (immigration enforcement, customs enforcement, and federal protective service).